I’m Expecting

Mother Nature

As my college graduation approaches, I can’t help but to feel nostalgic. So many emotions and flashbacks of visions and dreams of where I wanted to be. And now, I’m where I once saw myself. I’ve been experiencing a lot deja vu, feeling like I’ve been somewhere already. I will be graduating the third of May, and that is a huge accomplishment for me. As an artist, words just come to me, so I decided to write a little reflection piece.

I came home, told my mom: “Ma, I’m pregnant.”
The look on her face, I’ll never forget.
“Don’t say anything, give me a second.
This decision I don’t want to regret

You’ve always told me, ‘the sky’s the limit’
‘Echale ganas’ and that’s what I’ve done.
Please, just listen, just give me a minute.
I’ve run too fast. This thread can’t be unspun

No matter what they say, I’ll keep going.
This will be difficult, but I’m willing.
I’m committed to the stretching and growing.
I know I can! New life is fulfilling within

Now here we stand, head held high, and I feel heard.
Ma, I’m pregnant with a dream, and the due date’s May 3rd.”

 

Image reference: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/440930619738715742/

Leave a Reply

